Blog

Film Preview: The Farewell – “a heart-warming exploration of family, morality and belonging”

Monday 14th October 2019

Alice O’Hare reviews The Farewell, showing in our cinema from Friday 18 to Thursday 24 October. 

One might assume that a film centred around the consequences of … Continue Reading

Film Review: Downton Abbey – “the film hits every sweet spot a Downton fan would want”

Monday 14th October 2019

Helen Tope reviews Downton Abbey, showing in our cinema until Thursday 17 October. We also have a Bringing in Baby screening on … Continue Reading

Film Review: A Faithful Man – “a multi-dimensional slice of life that never takes itself too seriously”

Monday 7th October 2019

Alice O’Hare reviews A Faithful Man, showing in our cinema until Thursday 10 October.

In a bold yet simple opening, A Faithful Man (the sophomore effort … Continue Reading

Film Review: Notorious – “What Hitchcock delivers here is a definitive take on the spy thriller.”

Monday 7th October 2019

Helen Tope reviews Notorious, showing in our cinema until Wednesday 9 October.

1946 was a very good year for film. The Big Sleep, Gilda and It’s a … Continue Reading

Visiting the cinema this October? Let us know what you think!

Wednesday 2nd October 2019

This October, we are running our annual cinema survey. If you attend a film screening this month, you will be invited to complete a survey about your experience with us.

Plymouth … Continue Reading

Film Review: Bait – “a talent to look out for”

Tuesday 1st October 2019

Nigel Watson reviews Bait, showing in our cinema until Wednesday 2 October. All screenings of Bait are currently sold out but because it is so popular … Continue Reading

Film review: “As a psychological study, Mrs Lowry and Son excels”

Monday 30th September 2019

Helen Tope reviews Mrs Lowry and Son, showing in our cinema until Thursday 3 October. 

Filmed with a lightness of touch, Mrs Lowry and Son is a delicate … Continue Reading

In Pictures: Open Air Cinema 2019

Wednesday 25th September 2019

Our Open Air Cinema programme for 2019 is over, but we’re thrilled to be able to share these sunset photos that our Projectionist Sam Lyne took at our … Continue Reading

Film Review: Vita and Virginia

Monday 9th September 2019

Helen Tope reviews Vita and Virginia, showing one last time in our cinema on Tuesday 10 September at 6pm. 

Based on her 1992 play, Eileen Atkins brings … Continue Reading

Open Air Cinema Preview: Captain Marvel – “an out-of-this-world story with a whole heap of humanity”

Thursday 29th August 2019

Alice O’Hare’s first contribution to our blog is a review of Captain Marvel, which will be screened at Royal … Continue Reading

Film Review: Yesterday – “a joyful celebration of The Beatles music without The Beatles”

Monday 29th July 2019

Nigel Watson reviews Yesterday, showing in our cinema until Wednesday 31 July. 
Yesterday is a joyful celebration of The Beatles music without The … Continue Reading

Film Review: Tucked – “one of those British films that we do so well”

Monday 29th July 2019

Helen Tope reviews Tucked, showing in our cinema until Wednesday 31 July.

Set in Brighton, Tucked tells the story of an unlikely friendship. Jackie is a 74-year-old … Continue Reading